Today we did circuit bending. Ever since seeing modified toy orchestra I’ve wanted to try this but had been put off by the thought of soldering. I seem to jinx electrical components and circuits that I’ve built myself so I thought I wouldn’t be able to coax anything useful from the toy.
I got a cheap driving wheel with very low fi samples and took the back off. I wetted a finger and drew it across the contacts until I found I could speed and slow down the play back by rocking my finger. I also managed to wring out some really distressed squealing noises from the circuit board.
I’ve sampled my efforts and will clean them up and arrange them later this week.
I’m looking forward to hitting the charity shops and stocking up on cheap toys.
In the mean time here’s a link to a circuit bending site with plenty of advice and ideas. http://www.oddmusic.com/illogic/index.html

