The Brother’s Unconnected played on Saturday. They’re the surviving members of the Sun City girls, so I think that means they also play in The Master Musicians of Bukkake. They interspersed songs about infanticide and racial stereotypes with banter where they castigated the audience for clapping cot death and told unspeakable anecdotes about Henry Kissinger’s sex chimps. I recorded some footage but my iPhone is shit so you can see pock all, it’s orientated wrong but the sound is good.

The next act I saw was Vladislav Delay. He played moody textures with ominous, slowly shifting percussion. Unfortunately I was in the mood for something more energising so I couldn’t warm to it.

I watched Ariel Pink  next – didn’t really warm to his act. He also seemed a little off key and static. Spectrum in Reds was much better – it started off with some theremin spookiness and in common with a lot of acts this weekend relied on riff repetition, but still managed to keep one’s attention. I suppose having a front man and band to focus on helped. It had an element of Johnny Cash country noir to it which was more interesting than watching a guy behind a laptop.

At some point between acts we checked out the “history of sound art” installation in the cinema. We were greeted with the sight of a dozen or so people either sleeping or monging out to random soundeffects while a digital counter ticked away on the screen.

I mentioned earlier that I was not a fan of Animal Collective, I hadn’t much liked the little I’d heard. However, after having seen them live (twice) this weekend I am converted. I know they opened with a song called “changes” (is this a new song or is it off an album, where can I get it) which is still playing on a loop inside my head. I liked the soaring proggy vocals and the harmonies, I liked the deft use of samples and electronics, I liked the feeling of joy and celebration that their songs evoked. I was impressed and glad I took time to check them out.

Ariel Pink played later in the day.

