I’ve just returned from the latest Nightmare Before Christmas ATP event and I have to say that it was the best one I’ve been to so far.

I was a bit worried that it wouldn’t go ahead as the Jeff Mangum event which was scheduled for the weekend before was cancelled. There is an interview with David Yow on emusic.com where he says that ATP had made a loss at the I’ll Be Your Mirror event and were advised by their accountants to postpone the event till March. It would be a shame if ATP winds up bankrupt, there really is no festival like it. If you’ve not been then go! goddamit. Tickets are still available for the March event.

Les Savy Fav, Battles and Caribou curated a night each and this led to a varied mix of music. Maybe I was lucky in the bands I chose to see but there was no filler and all put in good performaces. I’m pretty sure I spotted William Bennet of Cut Hands and Whitehouse at some of the shows.

Unfortunately the curse of Butlin’s ever diminishing standard of accommodation  struck again. After a long drive to Minehead we got to our room to discover a tiny box room with one [supposedly] double bed. However, after getting no help from the Butlin’s staff the very nice ATP staff upgraded our room to a four berth apartment with a kitchen.

I will post up some video clips as the day goes on but apologies in advance, they are a bit ropey, partly because I was trying to dance and film at the same time. Also by day three I was very very “refreshed” so in the end couldn’t be arsed to try and film and just danced like a chimp with an itchy arse.

 

 

