First band up were Free School. I’d not heard of these guys before. They were decked out in rather unsettling sheep masks and pumped out (to my ears anyway) an Underworld groove. For a dance act they were welcomingly visual and kinetic, no staring at a laptop screen here, instead we had live drumming, vocals and stage presence. All in all, a good start to proceedings, here’s a couple of clips to give you a flavour.

Afterwards I went to see Devilman. No footage I’m afraid and there was no info in the program or website but it looked like KK Null and other luminaries of Japanese noise jamming. Whatever / whoever it was the music was ferociously loud and the bass waves got my windpipe quivering and sent ripples through my scalp and got the (few) hairs on my head tingling. Me gusta mucho!

